Days 19 & 20: Starting from the Toes

Yesterday and today found me reading about starting knit socks from the toes, and even two at a time. The biggest thing I learned was that I need to do more reading on knitting two socks at a time before I tackle a project like this!

The short-row toe looks fairly straight forward, but this is likely because I have done short rows on other projects, and in my first socks, the heels are made with short rows.

Two of the cast-ons I read about involved a provisional cast on, which would demand use of my crochet skills. It has been a while, so it would be nice to use these skills again!

I think that this might become a go-to cast-on for socks once I get the hang of it. This can also be used for mittens – which I haven’t tackled yet.

Leave a Reply

