Days Eight & Nine: Tips

I was out of town at a funeral yesterday without access to a computer, but I did get my learning assignment in at the hotel last night. I read about different ways to divide stitches onto DPNs, which I haven’t had to worry about for most of the sock project, since I’m using the cute little 9″ circular. For the short section I did use them, I had to un-knit and then re-knit a few sections due to laddering.


I found this perfect example of laddering over at Stitch Piece n Purl – lots of useful info over there!

So, the info I covered yesterday discussed knitting a couple extra stitches off of the next needle each time around to avoid the laddering. How easy! And I never knew before…


Today I read more about picking up stitches for sock gussets. Now, if you’ve ever done this before, you know it can sometimes be a pain, depending on the size of your needles and how slippery the yarn is. If you’ve never done it before, trust me, it’s a pain in the butt! So what was the most valuable thing I learned today? Use a crochet hook to pick them up!
It’s so simple! I learned how to crochet as a kid, and that was my primary yarn-craft up until a little over two years ago, so I can’t believe I didn’t think of this myself! Needless to say, one of my crochet hooks is now in my knitting bag, and will likely just live there from now on.

Leave a Reply

