Day One – Sock Anatomy & Casting On

For some of my challenge, I will be doing a sock knitting video course by Lucy Neatby, offered through Craftsy. I have never knit socks before, and am hoping to surprise Grammy by learning how, practicing, and then making and gifting her a beautiful pair for Christmas.

For now, my first pair is for Brandon, since he’s a good sport and a great guinea pig when it comes to my projects. I will be using Herrschners Worsted Weight Yarn, a 100% acrylic yarn (he feels the need to wash AND dry everything – this is the safest yarn for him) in color 0049 Forest, a lovely green. According to the label, 18 sts=4″ on US size 7’s. I am knitting on my 9″ circular US size 6’s, and my gauge matches.

So, back to the learning. I started watching the first lesson today, in which Lucy covers sock anatomy and casting on. For my project, Brandon’s right ankle and distal foot measure 9.75 inches. Based on the gauge x ankle/foot circumference ratio, rounded to the nearest multiple of four. For this project, it is 4.5 sts x 9.75 in = 43.9. So, after rounding to the nearest multiple of four, I should cast on 44 stitches.

I have the cast-on done. It was ridiculously easy, likely because I already knew how to do a long-tail cast on. I did learn one new thing from that section though, aside from how to find the number of stitches to cast on. When doing a long-tail cast on, to make certain you don’t have too much or too little tail-yarn, you should have your tail measure approximately four times the length of the circumference.

A good start today. I can’t wait to join and start knitting the sock tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

